NECA Group

Industrial Awards and the National Employment Standard

Modern Awards are now operating for all private businesses in Australia with the exception of non-constitutional organisations in Western Australia.

Within the electrical and communications contracting industry, the relevant Modern Award is the Electrical, Electronic and Communications Contracting Award 2010 which covers electrical and communications workers (including apprentices). The Clerks – Private Sector Award 2010 covers clerical and administrative employees.

These awards replace the Electrical, Electronic and Communications Contracting Industry (State) Award and the Clerical & Administrative Employees (State) Award which are now totally ineffective.

National Employment Standards

National Employments Standards (NES) commenced on 1 January, 2010 and apply to all employers. The NES prescribe conditions such as maximum weekly hours of work, annual leave, community service leave, compassionate leave, long service leave, personal/carers leave, parental leave, requests for flexible working arrangements, notice of termination and redundancy pay.

To view or download a copy of these awards and the NES, click on the links below.



For more information on workplace relations and NECA services  call 1300 361 099 or email  


☎:1300 361 099
✉: 122 Hume Highway, Chullora NSW 2190